SLEDGE, THE - On The Verge Of Nothing (solid white) LP

  • only 1 copy in stock
  • Item no.: 17662
  • Shipping time: in stock (1-2 working days)
  • instead of: 21,00 €
  • Special price: 16,99 €
  • including 19% VAT., plus shipping
Loading ...



The Sledge ... a black belt fuzz machine; a new old group of musicians, getting together in one room, with a mission: To capture the energy from endless hours of jamming and composing. It is hard to categorize the music of The Sledge as heard on their debut album On The Verge Of Nothing. Some might call it stoner, with a mighty dose of proto-metal, and some might call it hard rock with pinches of grunge, old school metal, and robotic riffs. The album is described by early listeners as "quite a sonic ride", and take the listener through all kinds of instrumentation and experimentation. Inspired by other bands, who do not play a specific genre or style, but play what feels right. But take a listen yourselves and decide.

The Sledge is built on the ashes of Danish fuzz-bomb band Hjortene, who did 5 different releases - all in different physical formats. Since 2004 Hjortene played live all over Scandinavia, supported Valient Thorr, Truckfighters and Fu Manchu and gathered a solid following in Scandinavia. The band felt like going for a fresh start both in terms of a new name and a tweak to their powerful musical output, while maintaining their specific soulful take on rock n' roll. "The new songs are way more tuned down, and slower and heavier, but of course you can hear where we come from musically?" says The Sledge.

The debut album from The Sledge On The Verge Of Nothing is captured live in the studio, over two days. All the basic tracks of drums, guitar and bass were done in one room, played live, with the use of no headphones, and no studio windows to obscure the energy; just roaring amplifiers and pounding loud drums. The band wanted to capture the raw feeling of playing live, and be able to feel each other in that room. Later they dubbed vocals, and other details, and invited prominent friends to contribute. Old friend of the band Lorenzo Woodrose (Baby Woodrose, On Trial) is all over the album "he just came, hung out, and delivered... a lot of percussion and harmony vocals". Bo Morthen from stoner psych legends On Trial did vocals for a blue, paired down track, and having Lorenzo to back him up. "It was like bringing On Trial together for a song again".

Anders Onsberg Hansen (Baby Woodrose, Spids Nøgenhat) did the recordings in Copenhagen, and for the mixing and mastering, the band brought in some heavyweight champions in the rock business: Matt Bayles (Mastodon, The Sword, Isis) did the mixes in Seattle, and Dave Collins (Soundgarden, Fu Manchu, QOTSA) did the mastering in Los Angeles. The band comments: "We wanted to take everything a step further, and did no compromises in choosing who to work with. We were not setting out to make a classic stoner rock album ... and we think you can hear that." The result is a hard rocking, grooving and soulful album consisting of eight songs displaying the wide capability of a band true to their roots while exploring the possibilities of rock n' roll.


- 150x solid orange (111 of which are handnumbered as MAILORDER edition, the rest will be sold by the band)
- 200x solid white
- 150x black 
- deluxe 350gsm gatefold cover, inside out print, matt laquered
- special vinyl mastering

Other customers have also bought the following items