WIGHT - Spank The Word (transparent pink) LP

  • Available now!
  • Item no.: 20093
  • Shipping time: in stock (1-2 working days)
  • instead of: 27,60 USD
  • Special price: 9,19 USD
  • including 19% VAT., plus shipping
Loading ...



Wight proudly present their fourth studio album "Spank the World" - and as anyone who has been following the band's previous releases should have come to expect, things turn out a whole lot different once again.

One factor is definitely that "Spank the World" is Wight's first studio effort written as a four-piece band. "Spank the World? sees Steffen Kirchpfening doubling on percussion and keyboards and involved in songwriting from the first minute, adding sounds and textures to the album that haven't been previously heard from Wight. But that's not the only thing that's different - drummer Thomas Kurek dabbling in synthesizers as well, guitarist/vocalist Rene Hofmann recording all types of crazy instrumentations well outside of his classic role, bassist Peter-Philipp Schierhorn ditching his signature Flying V for a fretless bass more often than not, and then, guest musicians all over the place, what in the world is going on here?

The story of course goes back to the Fusion Rock Invasion tours supporting "Love Is Not Only What You Know" between 2015 and 2017. While touring and coming up with the first new ideas, the band decided to make the next release a true studio album instead of basically a bunch of live cuts recorded in the studio. Especially with a fourth band member and a multitude of new sounds and instruments to be tried out, simply jamming out in the rehearsal room was a good starting point, but seemed to not fully utilize the creative potential present within the band. So the plan was to finish the ideas that were floating around up into songs in the studio, go crazy with the recordings and figure out how to arrange the pieces into proper live versions afterwards.

Connected by a common theme of humanity on its self-centered path to demise before finally being put out of their misery by an intergalactic council who have had enough - by way of a giant fucking planet - destroying robot of course - Wight present a daring journey through the worlds of rock, funk, jazz and world music. "Spank the World" is a fusion album in the truest sense of the word. While the band is still figuring out how to present all this madness live - and if you've seen Wight's live show in the past, you know the boys won't be settling for anything half-assed - you can already judge for yourself whether their endeavor to produce "progressive rock you can dance to" was successful. And don't forget the hidden track on Side B ... depending on whether you have LP, the CD or the digital release, you may either find it by looking for it, or only find it if you don't search at all.


- 300 copies standard edition on 180g transparent pink vinyl (comes with insert)
- 200 copies Kozmik Mailorder Edition on 180g white/blue marbled vinyl (comes with insert & poster)
- Plated & pressed on heavy high performance vinyl by Pallas Group in Germany
- deluxe 300gsm gatefold cover
- special vinyl mastering

Other customers have also bought the following items