• Item no.: 23622
  • Shipping time: preorder (item will be shipped 1-2 working days after release date)
  • Our price: 21,00 €
  • including 19% VAT., plus shipping
Loading ...

Available from: 05.05.2023 (Pre-order is possible)


Welcome to the debut album by Richard Olson & The Familiars, an LP full of dreamy harmony laden melancholy and, dare we say it, singer songwriter pop music - though pop music in the sense that each track is a gorgeous ear worm that you can wrap yourself in and within. Richard was a member of the now-legendary Eighteenth Day Of May, before forming The See See who would then evolve into the much loved and revered The Hanging Stars. On Richard's debut LP we are treated to a record full of lush harmonies, acoustic guitars and strings as well as Richard's most personal and reflective writing, songs that are full of a hazy warmth and yearning that superbly capture the feel and sound that lies somewhere between The Byrds (think 'Easy Rider') and The Clientele. The plaintive gorgeousness of opening track 'I Can't Help Myself' reflects the heart-rending, deep feeling that flows throughout the whole of Richard Olsen and The Familiars debut LP. Richard has a great, expressive voice, capable of switching from harmonious and melodic to world-weary within a single song. Air is especially affecting and effective - gorgeously near-ambient kaleidoscope vibe of whispered vocals with pedal steel and slide guitar. 'I'm A Butterfly' blends a sumptuous bouncy riff with harmonica and tambourines into a hazy dream of pop perfection. 'Inside Sunshine' is the perfect song to close the LP, lilting into the sunset as Richard creates an wonderous retro hued filter - a filmic paean to love with Luke Barlow's flute playing adding to the trance created.